Too begin with something very light-hearted...
I find things like Lookbook very embarrassing. Apparently, I’m completely unaware of what has happened to the differentiation of fashion across the world. It’s just a continuous list of men and women (moreover, young people, children even, who dress like adults) who are all dressed exactly the same. A lover of all things vintage myself, this is really beginning to irritate me. I don’t like to be stereotyped. I like something because it’s what I like, not because Tom, Dick and Harry like it too.
It used to be refreshing to see someone in a pair of Dr Martens. Literally, the most fashion savvy, daring and experimental people who were so un-stereotypical beyond belief used to wear them. They’d look so amazing. Others would stare in admiration, others would criticize. If my legs weren’t so short, I’d have been right on that. My best friend Katie bought a pair a while back, long before this current “style sensation.” I literally loved them. Now, you see girls in bright, bulky DM’s everywhere. It’s depressing. I like vintage clothing because it used to be different – it was a way of expression of individuality. Now it’s everywhere (High Street replica’s are everywhere.) Yes, I’m aware that vintage is a massive trend for Spring Summer, Autumn Winter and Spring Summer 2012, but that’s not the point. I really like this, more clothes for me. It’s just that, amongst many on Lookbook, there may as well be a checklist. “Hipster?” Of course. Hair? Like everybody else. And yes, frameless geek chic glasses will definitely be apparent. If you aren’t like that, and there are a few, you don’t get hyped, fanned or given love or karma. Dress like that because you want to dress like that, not because you want to be like everyone else.
Outburst over, please don’t sue me. :]
Now appreciate fashion photography that generally has some sort of originality.


No comments:
Post a Comment